Jennifer Koh: Shared Madness

Date and Time: 
Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 7:30pm
Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

Special two-concert event! 
View 3 p.m. performance

Winter Chamber Music Festival subscriptions are on sale now. 
Purchase Subscription

Single Ticket Pricing
General public: $50 for both performances, or $30 for one performance
Students with valid ID: $10 for each performance
Buy Tickets

“Jennifer Koh is a risk-taking, high-octane player of the kind who grabs the listener by the ears and refuses to let go,” declares The Strad, praising her “beguilingly silvery tone, fabulous technique and dead center intonation.” Koh is Musical America’s 2016 Instrumentalist of the Year, a winner of the Concert Artists Guild Competition, and the recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant. Highlights of her 2016-17 season included world premieres of violin concertos by Christopher Rountree with new-music collective wild Up and by Vijay Iyer at the 2017 Ojai Festival, as well as appearances with the Baltimore, St. Louis, and Cincinnati symphonies and the New York String Orchestra.

Her spellbinding new two-part program Shared Madness tells the story of a supportive community of artists who wrote new works for Koh as payment to generous benefactors who donated money for a new violin in exchange for music commissions. The project, comprised of 24 specially-commissioned caprices inspired by those of Paganini, exploring the relationship between composer and performer, between violinist and instrument. Shared Madness includes caprices written by such contemporary-music luminaries as Samuel Adams, Philip Glass, John Harbison, David Lang, Kaija Saariaho, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Augusta Read Thomas, and Julia Wolfe.